Fashion, Art, Culture, Entertainment, Style

I have worn myself out organizing my walk-in closet!  I am now reflecting on a book that I read years ago written by the Delaney sisters.  I believe that these two sisters lived to be well into their 90s…maybe longer.  They said that the less that you have, the less you have to manage.  So true.  I will always adore fashion.  I so look forward to seeing certain trends that I love return…yeah, capes for fall!  But I am a wife, mother, business owner, singer/songwriter, volunteer at my son’s school…you get my point?

I keep thinking that I need variety…you know, for all of the different ways I live.  Oh, and I can’t get rid of that t-shirt!  I wore it to my first concert!  I just need to lose 10 more pounds to get back into that dress! And how dare I show up to church with the same thing on twice and have them talking about me! Yeah, yeah, yeah whatever!!!!

So, maybe I will continue my love affair with accessories and streamline my wardrobe. ‘Cause my time is one of my most valuable gifts.  I’m learning to live more, give more and be free!  One thing I am doing is holding on to alot of the accessories and letting go of the clothes.  I would rather have my closet running over with shoes, purses and jewelry and own only three pairs of jeans.  And I can remember a time when I had 30 pairs of jeans in my closet.  Do whatever makes you feel good.  My point is that life is stressful enough….  Here’s some tips on simple living but keeping your inner fashionista in tact.

  • Use clear containers so that you can see where everything is.  Don’t you hate looking for a particular item? Especially when time is of the essence.
  • Stay clear of too many trends.
  • Fill your closet with classic pieces.
  • Invest some $$$$ into your clothes so that they will last.
  • Hand wash, cold versus dry cleaning when you can.
  • If it doesn’t fit, can’t be fixed or you haven’t worn it in a year, toss it or give it away.

Well..that’s it!  I’m still working on this closet of mine….I know one thing for sure, I’ve got more things to do with my time than washing and folding.

 

Oh, and by the way, that is NOT my closet in the picture.  I might post a pic of mine once I’m finished….but on many days, it looks just like that one.

 

 

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

